Being Northern at a Southern University

Before you say that Uni of Warwick is in the West Midlands: I am very aware of this, however, IT’S STILL VERY BLOODY SOUTHERN TO ME.

Moving to university can be a big upheaval, and those of you who are going to cross the north-south divide are going to witness some very real culture shocks. Never fear though, for Chloe is here! Here is a brief list of WEIRD differences in the south to prepare you:

1. The Price of a Pint

13313926_1010257955690552_2039756173_o

Time to say goodbye to two quid pints of Carling and Carlsberg. Say hello to £3.50 and up. This photo on the left is my look of outrage and disgust upon hearing that a round of drinks for four of us was 20 quid.

Oh, and you can kiss goodbye to £1 shots too. I miss you, Black Rabbit. I miss you, Concert Square. I MISS YOU LIVERPOOL.

My tip: pre-drinking is your best mate on a night out. Can’t beat a cheapo bottle of wine.

 

2. Your accent is stronger than you think.jamie_carragher_2563483b

Were you called posh in school? Did you think you had an all right voice? An RP accent? WELL, YOU’RE WRONG. Once you get to uni, you’ll soon know the pain of having your posh southern mates laugh at you. I mean, for god’s sake, I’m from the Wirral – not Liverpool – and when I rang the campus hairdressers to book an appointment, they actually asked me if I was the female Jamie Carragher. Then again, a Geordie once asked me if my accent was Dutch… It’s almost as if you drop a couple of vowels and suddenly you’re speaking a foreign language.

My hint: embrace it. Take the mick out of yourself. Besides, your accent may unintentionally get you some free drinks. (Yes, this happens).

3. “Where are you from?”

Oh, the dreaded question. Southern understanding of northern geography is not up to scratch. You can say ‘up north’ and they’ll ask whereabouts. Never try. NEVER. Try explaining to a Central Londoner where Birkenhead is. Let me ask you this, reader, do you know where Birkenhead is? SHOULD I STOP WRITING? I’M NOT FROM LIVERPOOL. STOP TELLING ME I’M FROM LIVERPOOL. I KNOW WHERE I’M FROM.

My hint: Basically, just send them to your general area or county. That’s why I say ‘Merseyside’.

4. Curry and gravy

Southerners think it’s weird that we have gravy on chips. They think it’s weird that we have curry on chips. They think it’s weird that we have cheesy chips smothered in mayo. It’s not weird. THEY’RE WEIRD. Chips and gravy is a delicacy and you can’t tell me otherwise. Oh, and Greggs serves some of the finest cuisine known to mankind.

My hint: NEVER STOP LOVING CHIPS N GRAVY OR CHIPS N CURRY.

5. Weather

The weather is a bit less gloomy down here, in all honesty. You know how us northerners are brave when it comes to weather because we’re so used to it? Southerners, not so much. They fight to the death to keep their umbrellas up in gale force winds. They wear jackets on nights out. If you aren’t warm, you haven’t had enough to drink. UP YOUR GAME, SOUTHERNERS.

My hint: go out there and FLAUNT THAT NORTHERN SPIRIT. (And also take advantage of the extra sun while you’re down south).

 

6. Slang

This is similar to my point on accents, but southerners just don’t get our slang. Just how we don’t get theirs. The only difference is that we understand theirs, we just don’t understand why they use the phrases they do. Here’s a list of common phrases/words from back home that I taught my flatmates:

  • antwacky (old)
  • arlarse (harsh)
  • bevvy/bevvied (bit obvious, don’t you think?)
  • scran (food)
  • nonce (this means paedophile, but we mostly use it ‘for bants’)
  • trabs (shoes)
  • bins (glasses)
  • skint/brassic (poor)

My hint: compare slang/phrases with your southern friends. Maybe you’ll laugh, maybe you’ll end up arguing about whether you call it a ‘batch’ or not (you know what I’m talking about, fellow Wirralians).

Leave a Reply

