Hillary Clinton

 

I love Hillary Clinton. There, I said it. I love Hillary Diane Rodham Clinton and I’m not afraid to show it. Cataloguing everything Hillary has accomplished in her – almost – 69 years on this earth is too big a task for a Merseyside bird like me. So instead I’ll give you a list of all the reasons I think she’s one of the soundest women to ever grace this planet. THIS ONE’S FOR YOU HIL BABE.

First, let’s just address the issue of her rocking those bold pant suits. You go Hillz, you go.

hillary clinton

Now, down to business.

She was the first student ‘commencement speaker‘ at her university when her class graduated way back in 1969. Upon graduating, ‘she worked her way across Alaska, washing dishes in Mount McKinley National Park and sliming salmon in a fish processing cannery in Valdez (which fired her and shut down overnight when she complained about unhealthy conditions).’

This to me shows not only how she doesn’t mind getting her hands dirty, but also how she’s always cared about social issues and about other people. Something further proven by her organisation of a program IN HER TEENS to provide babysitting for migrant workers’ children.

God, I love her.

Maybe I love this next point so much because I LOVE THE CLINTONS UNCONDITIONALLY AND WISH I COULD BE ONE, but… she made the first move with Bill. She told ABC news the following: “He was looking at me, and I was looking at him. And I finally thought this was ridiculous, because every time I saw him on campus I just couldn’t take my eyes off of him, and he was always watching me. So I put my books down, I walked out, and I said, ‘You know, if you’re going to keep looking at me, and I’m going to keep looking back, we should know each other. I’m Hillary Rodham.’”

She’s so cool.

On the other end of this, we of course have the Lewinsky scandal. Which she rode out with grace and dignity. You can sit there all day and tell me that standing by her man makes her a hypocrite for whatever reasoning you’ve got, but I truly believe that that is the sort of tenacity that makes her great.

bill and hill

She was an amazing First Lady of both Arkansas and the United State. During Bill’s tenure as Governor of Arkansas she co-founded the Arkansas Advocates for Children and Families, chaired the Arkansas Educational Standards Committee and served on the boards of the Arkansas Children’s Hospital, Legal Services and the Children’s Defense Fund.

I hear you asking ‘could she be any cooler?’ Yes, actually, because she believed in America having universal healthcare like 20 years before it was cool. Oh, by the way, a few years ago she was pictured having some top quality bants in Colombia. And as if she wasn’t cool enough, she also won a Grammy in 1997. YES, A GRAMMY. She won it for Best Spoken Word Album  for the audio version of “It Takes A Village”

hillary clinton

One of the main reasons I love Hillary, and why I have a framed photo of her on my desk,   is her incredible championing of women. From a young age, she aspired beyond the restraints of gender roles and has been resilient ever since. In fact, when she was just a little girl, she wrote to NASA to inquire into how she could go about becoming an astronaut. I read about this somewhere, and it turns out that they responded saying that they didn’t allow women on their programme. Perhaps this is where the Hillary Clinton we know and love today was born.

Did you know that she’s the 2nd most powerful woman and 16th most powerful person in the world (according to Forbes), and she was inducted into the National Women’s Hall Of Fame in 2005?

Did you know that she was the first woman elected to the Senate representing New York and also the first former First Lady to hold elected office?

Did you know that  in 2008 when she first ran for the presidency she was the first woman to win a presidential primary?

Did you know that she was the only woman on the Nixon impeachment legal team AND she was the first female partner at her law firm in Arkansas from 1977 to 1993?

Did you know that she has been Gallup’s most admired woman in America sixteen times? SIXTEEN TIMES.

hillary clinton

 

When at Yale Law School, she was one of 27 women in a class of 235. And do you know what her reasoning behind choosing Yale over Harvard was? She was at a cocktail party at Harvard…

“One of my friends said, ‘Professor So-and-So, this is Hillary Rodham, she’s trying to decide between us and our nearest competitor,’” Mrs. Clinton said. “And he looked down at me and he said, ‘Well, first, we don’t have a nearest competitor. And secondly, we don’t need any more women.”

Hillary (yes, we’re on a first name basis) understands just how prejudiced society is towards women – even in this day and age. She has fought tooth and nail to get where she is today and by God, that woman deserves it. She is not afraid to stand up for women and for what is right. She even calls out reporters for asking sexist questions; when one reporter asked her about her choice in fashion designers, she responded with the question “would you ever ask a man that question?”

hillary clinton

 

SHE IS AMAZING.

The thing you have to love about Hillary – regardless of politics – is her unwillingness to sit on the sidelines. As First Lady she wasn’t afraid to participate in politics, with the proposal of her health plan. She kept working while her husband was the governor of Arkansas (she knows her business stuff too, might I add, with a six year tenure as a director of Wal-Mart). And when her First Lady days were over, she ran for the Senate… AND WON.

On top this this, she is resilient. Nothing keeps her down. She might have lost her bid for the Democratic nomination in 2008, but she still became Secretary of State, and is now running for the nomination and presidency again. She may well be the first woman President of the United States.

Ultimately, Hillary Clinton is one of my heroes. Not only does she make America a better place, she makes the world a better place – especially for women. She has made waves all over the world, but especially here in the UK with me. Hillary, thank you for inspiring me.

 

Leave a Reply

