Curves Are Boss.

 

I’ve always struggled with my weight. I’ve never been one of those girls who can eat endless amounts of pasta, chocolate and cake. I’ve done endless diet and exercise regimes. I even went through a phase of wearing all black to try and make it seem as though I’d shaved an inch or two. But now I’m at a point in my life where I can say, “you know what? Curves are boss. And so is my body.” It’s not easy. So many women despise their bodies, relying on social media and various media outlets like magazines to decide what their body should look like. It’s time to step away from Instagram and look in the mirror. It’s time to love those curves, ladies. 

13389154_1015159845200363_1508314333_o

That’s me – the curvy bitch with the curled hair.

 

 

***DISCLAIMER***: This is not a post about skinny-shaming; this is a post encouraging women to love their curves.

Let me start by saying that curvy is not synonymous with fat. HAVING CURVES DOES NOT MAKE YOU FAT. Although, sometimes your curves can hide that bastard Christmas weight, which comes in quite handy.   Girls, the size of your arse doesn’t matter. Neither does the flatness of your stomach. Or the width of your thighs when you sit down. Stop fighting your body. Stop fighting the way you look. Embrace the curves that another woman wishes she had.

“Body confidence doesn’t come from trying to achieve the ‘perfect’ body. It comes from embracing the one you’ve already got!” – Unknown

Kate Winslet. Real life goddess.

Believe me, I know that it’s easier said than done when it comes to embracing those curves, but that’s where I come in. I’m here to waffle and hopefully help you to realise that your curves are boss.

Firstly, don’t do yourself the disservice of wearing clothes that don’t fit. By that, I mean don’t go out and buy a size 20 if you’re a size 16. I used to buy XXL t-shirts despite being an M, just because they’re super comfortable. You’ll never get to admire your curves if you can’t see them. Wear something that hugs your figure and look at the shape of your body. Isn’t it amazing how your waist is so tiny, but you still get a boss set of twins on your chest? Incredible, right?

Similarly, get to know your body and accentuate the part you like most. You like your legs? Get your legs out. You like your stomach? Show off your mid-rift. You like your boobs? Nothing wrong with a bit of cleavage. Stop hating and hiding your body. Start loving and showing it. Discover your body. Discover every nook and cranny. Then teach yourself to love them.

“I didn’t discover curves; I only uncovered them”. – Mae West

A friend of mine once told me that you can feel sexy if you have a bit of a sexy secret. Maybe wear some lacy underwear underneath your everyday clothes. Alternatively, you could pay a cheeky visit to Ann Summers. *insert cheeky, smirky emoji*

Seriously though, how boss does your arse look in a good pair of jeans? How boss do your boobs look in a fit, lacy bra? How boss do your legs look in that skirt and pair of wedges? How boss do your hips and waist look in that dress that hangs off your waist ever so nicely? BE YOUR OWN CHEERLEADER!

13384898_1015159828533698_357363087_n

“I’m dead sound, me.” – Me, 6 years old.

Sometimes you’ve just got to look in the mirror and tell yourself you’re beautiful. Soon enough, you’ll start to believe yourself. The most beautiful thing a woman can have is confidence. Tell yourself how boss your curves are. Tell yourself how great your boobs are. Tell yourself how juicy your arse is. Smile and love that body, girl. You only get one; it’s time to stop hating it.

Remember that girl in secondary school who called you a ‘heffer’? Remember that lad at the beach who shouted over and called you a ‘beached whale’? Ignore them. Forget them. Treat those nasty, unnecessary comments as if they’re unwanted dick pics from that creepy lad who super-liked you on Tinder. The only person’s opinion of your body that matters is your own.

This is for one of the mums who told me I was a ‘chubby ballerina’ in my leotard when I was 7 years old and caused me to quit dancing and swimming. This is for the girls who viciously bullied me in secondary school for being a ‘fatty’. This is for my ex-boyfriend who told me I was too fat for him. But, most of all, this is for me. And for all of the other girls out there who are made to hate their bodies because it’s not ‘the norm.’ You are beautiful. And your body is BOSS. Never forget that, and never let anyone tell you different.

CURVES ARE BOSS.

Leave a Reply

