Saying Goodbye (?)

Today, I said goodbye to one of my best friends; one of the greatest people I have ever met. Her name is Lois, and she was at the Uni of Warwick for her year abroad. At 12:45 this afternoon, she boarded a plane back to South Carolina and our quad was reduced to a triad. So, today I’d like to thank the Internet and social media. Without it, how would we be able to keep updated on each other’s every move?

I’ve never really been an emotional person. And, by that, I mean I cry once maybe twice a year. So you can imagine how uncomfortable I was on our last couple of days together as a whole quad when Lois, Katie and Serena were sobbing and I was just sat there swigging sipping wine. It’s not that I won’t miss her (because we left her at the airport four and a half hours ago and I already miss her). I just don’t really know what to do in those situations. Maybe because I like to think rationally rather than emotionally?

 
She was only here on her year abroad, so we all knew that she would be leaving at the end of the academic year. What we didn’t know is how close we would grow and how strong the collective bond formed between us all would be; we’re like a little family. I think that goodbye is just one of those things that I don’t understand yet. Maybe I’ll never fully understand it. People come and go in life all the time as you drift away, but when someone you love has to leave and you have to say goodbye, you just aren’t prepared for it.

1379649_968516559864692_4187244822838285470_n

The Quad.

The word ‘goodbye’ holds a certain weight. One of fear; one of the death of a relationship; one of impending change. Last night, I told Lois that I am awful at goodbyes. I told her that she is special to me, and that I wasn’t going to cry because I know that I will see her again at some point in the future, so this was more of a ‘see you in a few years’ rather than a goodbye. Just after we had done all our hugging and had a cute but SUPER expensive airport breakfast, we took Lois to security. I gave her the peace sign that she hates me doing, and told her to just go because Katie flooded the airport with her tears. She just looked at me, squeezed me tight for 30 seconds, told me she loved me and off she went.

I don’t feel like such a winner today because I have lost someone very special to me, but everyone else who gets her when she’s back in the US, they are winners. The thing you have to realise is that you can be friends no matter where you are in the world today.

Leave a Reply

